Glenn Maxwell celebrates his century ODI World Cup 2023 match between Australia and Netherlands at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on October 25, 2023.

Glenn Maxwell celebrates his century ODI World Cup 2023 match between Australia and Netherlands at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on October 25, 2023.
| Photo Credit: PTI

Glenn Maxwell bludgeoned his way to the fastest World Cup century after David Warner slammed his second successive hundred as Australia displayed their batting might to amass 399 for 8 against the Netherlands at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on October 25.

Opener Warner laid the foundation with a 92-ball 104 before Maxwell went on a six-hitting spree, smashing 106 off 44 balls, as Australia knocked the daylight out of the Dutch bowlers.

Also Read | Hardik Pandya may miss more World Cup matches, continues his recovery at NCA

Steve Smith (71) and Marnus Labuschagne (62) also returned to form with resolute fifties after Australia won the toss and elected to bat.

Maxwell reached the hundred in 40 balls to surpass South African Aiden Markram’s 49-ball effort which also came during this World Cup against Sri Lanka.

Maxwell smashed nine fours and eight sixes during his stunning innings, which was also the fourth fastest hundred in ODI cricket.

Warner, who captains the Delhi Capitals in IPL, used his cut shot to good use and also was quick between the wickets as his innings was studded with 11 hits to the fence and three maximums.

Warner was involved in two partnerships — 132 with Smith and 84 with Labuschagne — as Australia kept a steady run rate, keeping it above six run per over throughout the innings.

The Dutch might have nurtured hopes of a fight back as Australia lost three wickets in 19 balls to slip from 244 for 2 to 267 for 5 but Maxwell forged a 103-run stand off 43 balls with Pat Cummins to take Australia just one run short of 400.

Maxwell’s blitzkrieg saw Australia accumulate 131 runs in the last 10 overs.

Earlier, in a bold decision, Netherlands introduced twin spin attack but Warner took Aryan Dutt to the cleaners with four successive fours on the off side.

Logan van Beek struck the first blow with a short ball to get rid of Mitchell Marsh (9) as he and Paul van Meekeren kept things tight initially.

Smith, who has been struggling, looked in good touch, pulling and driving van Meekeren for two fours in the seventh over before picking three successive boundaries off van Beek as Australia scored 66 for one in first powerplay.

Warner survived a run-out chance when Max O’Dowd fumbled after the two batters found themselves at the non striker’s end.

The left-hander then clobbered the first six of the innings over deep midwicket. He then deposited Vikramjit Singh over long on to bring up the team hundred and reached his fifty with a four next, before hitting another boundary to accumulate 16 runs off the over.

Smith too picked up his first fifty as 124 came up in 20 overs.

The 23rd over was a dramatic one with Smith plundering Bas de Leede for a six and four. Warner too pulled him for a boundary before Roelof van der Merwe produced a stunning catch only to be denied after reviews showed he had grassed the ball.

Warner put another one across the ropes as 19 runs came off the over.

Aryan broke the stand with van der Merwe holding on this time to dismiss Smith. It put a break on the Australian as 22 runs came from 23rd to 28th overs.

Labuschagne was the next batman to be dismissed off the bowling of de Leede who also got rid of Josh Inglis (14).

Warner holed out to Aryan off van Beek after completing his century and Cameron Green was run out next. 


Australia innings: Mitchell Marsh c Ackermann b van Beek 9 David Warner c Dutt b van Beek 104 Steven Smith c van der Merwe b Dutt 71 Marnus Labuschagne c Dutt b de Leede 62 Josh Inglis c Engelbrecht b de Leede 14 Glenn Maxwell c Engelbrecht b van Beek 106 Cameron Green run out (Engelbrecht) 8 Pat Cummins (c) not out 12 Mitchell Starc c Ackermann b van Beek 0 Adam Zampa not out 1 Extras: (nb 1, w 11) 12

Total: (For 8 wickets in 50 overs) 399

Fall of wickets: 28-1, 160-2, 244-3, 266-4, 267-5, 290-6, 393-7, 393-8 Bowling: Aryan Dutt 7-0-59-1, Colin Ackermann 4-0-19-0, Logan van Beek 10-0-74-4, Paul van Meekeren 10-0-64-0, Vikramjit Singh 4-0-27-0, Roelof van der Merwe 5-0-41-0, Bas de Leede 10-0-115-2.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *