NEW DELHI: Team India, led by Harmanpreet Kaur, is geared up to face England in a three-match women’s T20I series, commencing on Wednesday. The Indian team, buoyed by recent successes, seeks to improve its bilateral record against England, particularly at home.
Team India has had a successful year in the shortest format, securing a gold medal in the Asian Games, winning an away series against Bangladesh (2-1), and reaching the final of the triangular series in South Africa, featuring West Indies as the third side.
However, Team India faces the challenge of a disappointing record at home in T20Is, with only two wins out of nine matches against England. The last victory on home soil against England came in March 2018. The overall record against England is also a concern, with only seven wins in 27 matches.
The series serves as an opportunity for India to address these concerns and fine-tune preparations for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh scheduled for September-October 2024. The team aims to build on the commendable performances of its batters, including Harmanpreet, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Smriti Mandhana, who have displayed consistency in the shortest format.
The addition of new faces, such as Shreyanka Patil, Mannat Kashyap, and Saika Ishaque, brings fresh talent to the Indian squad.
England, led by Nat Sciver-Brunt, boasts all-round prowess and looks to overcome the disappointment of a recent series loss to Sri Lanka.
With spin-friendly and slow surfaces expected, both teams anticipate a series dominated by spinners, leveraging the strengths in their bowling arsenals. The contest promises an exciting clash between two competitive sides striving for success in the T20 format.
India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka Patil, Mannat Kashyap, Saika Ishaque, Renuka Singh Thakur, Titas Sadhu, Pooja Vastrakar, Kanika Ahuja, Minnu Mani.
England: Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Mahika Gaur, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath (wk), Amy Jones (wk), Freya Kemp, Heather Knight (c), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt.
Time: 7:00 pm IST.
(With inputs from PTI)

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *